Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet No. 4, "Owhiro"

Year:  1993

Year:  1993

Gareth Farr

Composer:   Gareth Farr

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


"Owhiro" means "place of the god of darkness". Owhiro Bay in Wellington looks out over one of the most dangerous and unpredictable stretches of water in the world. As the waters change quickly from sparkling blues to deep grey-greens, from flat glass to churning boil, the response and emotions of the observer also changes.

Commissioned note

Written for NZ String Quartet during composer residency at Chamber Music New Zealand

Contents note

one movement

Performance history

08 Oct 1994: Performed by the New Zealand String Quartet; Founders Theatre, Hamilton

02 Nov 1997: Performed by New Zealand String Quartet: Helen Pohl and Douglas Bielman (violins), Gillian Ansell (viola), Rolf Gjelsten (cello)

01 Sep 1999: Performed by the New Zealand String Quartet in September 1999

+ Read More