Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Concerto for guitar and small orchestra

for guitar and chamber orchestra

Year:  1992   ·  Duration:  18m
Instrumentation:  solo guitar; 1110; 1000; perc.; strings | (Perc: side drum, triangle, susp. cymbal)

Year:  1992
Duration:  18m
Instrumentation  solo guitar; 1110; 1000; pe...

Composer:   David Farquhar

Films, Audio & Samples

David Farquhar: Concerto fo...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 2, 31-32, 47-48

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Concerto was commissioned by Matthew Marshall and the Wellington Regional Orchestra (now Orchestra Wellington), completed in May 1992 for a first performance planned for November 1992, and later postponed until May 1993.

This work is in three movements (quick – slow – quick), but these are connected by cadenza-like links for the guitar soloist, so that the music is continuous. In view of the balance problems in a guitar concerto I have written for a small orchestra (flute, oboe, clarinet, horn, percussion and strings), and treated the relationship between solo and orchestra in a concertante style – sharing material rather than opposing each other, and aiming throughout to make the guitar easily audible. Dance rhythms, with touches of rhumba and jazz, predominate in the quick movements, while the slow central movement uses variable speed tremolo on the guitar to enhance its singing qualities.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Matthew Marshall and the Wellington Regional Orchestra (now Orchestra Wellington)

Matthew Marshall |

Contents note

Three movements

Performance history

05 Jun 1993: Performed by Matthew Marshall (guitar), Wellington Regional Orchestra (now Vector Wellington Orchestra), conducted by Andrew Sewell

12 Oct 1996: Performed by Matthew Marshall (guitar), University of Guanajato Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Andrew Sewell, at the Cervantino Festival, Guanajato, Mexico.

+ Read More