Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Serenade for Strings

for string orchestra

Year:  1993   ·  Duration:  23m

Year:  1993
Duration:  23m

Composer:   David Farquhar

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1,6,12,20,30

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The titles of the five movements give the outline of a Serenade in the most literal and traditional meaning of the word. The Flourish aims to capture the lady's attention; through the Romance, Dance, and Aria the suitor presses his cause, and in the Finale the couple celebrate a successful outcome. I wouldn't, however, suggest that this story line be taken too literally! The music, I hope, speaks for itself. The Aria gives the double-bass a chance to shine as a soloist, and the Finale refers back to earlier material, then skips for joy, and finally relaxes into a tranquil 'apotheosis'. This Serenade was commissioned by Denis and Verna Adam to celebrate their fortieth wedding anniversary. The first performance was given by the NZ Chamber Orchestra in September 1993.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by The Adam Foundation for the New Zealand Chamber Orchestra

Dedication note

To Mrs. Verna Adam

Contents note

Five movements:

  1. Flourish
  2. Romance
  3. Dance
  4. Aria
  5. Finale

Performance history

24 Sep 1993: Performed by the New Zealand Chamber Orchestra dir. Armstrong; Adam Concert Room, Victoria University, Wellington

Performed by the New Zealand Chamber Orchestra, leader Donald Armstrong

+ Read More