Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for string orchestra

Year:  2003   ·  Duration:  15m

Year:  2003
Duration:  15m

Composer:   Rachael Morgan

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First page of each movement.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


To my knowledge, the title, Armannai, is meaningless. This was intentional. Conductors, performers and listeners must decide for themselves what the music means or represents to them. The first piece was influenced by Samuel Barber's Adagio for Strings and gives the impression of stilled time. The main theme is first introduced by the violins, then given to each section in turn. The contrasting second piece has a strong rhythmic drive, and should be performed with energy and intensity. Influenced by Peter Vasks and Arvo Part, the final piece shares a similar mood to the first. Although slow in tempo, it has a sense of moving forward through time. It has a stronger sense of direction yet remains unresolved. The three pieces may be performed as a set, or individually.

Armannai was first performed by Auckland University's Academy Chamber Orchestra, conducted by James Tennant, in June 2004 and was workshopped by the APO, conducted by Marc Taddei, later that year.

Contents note

1. Largo
2. Allegro
3. Adagio

Performance history

07 Jun 2004: Performed by the Auckland Academy Orchestra, conducted by James Tennant at the University of Auckland