Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Four Piano Pieces

for piano

Year:  1983   ·  Duration:  8m

Year:  1983
Duration:  8m

Nigel Keay

Composer:   Nigel Keay

Films, Audio & Samples

Performed by Gerard Parsons on 3 October 1983

Nigel Keay: Four piano piec...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1 of Score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Piano Piece 1 is constructed using the "12 note fixed-register" technique. The notes are grouped relatively closely around the centre of the keyboard to create 3 different transpositions of the melodic motif which creates a modulating effect. Piano Piece 2 is constructed using rhythmic groupings of 6 or 12 notes with some cross-rhythmic elements. Piano Piece 3 is written around the idea of harmonic resonance. Piano Piece 4 makes use of modes of limited transposition, in this case the recurring tone/semitone/tone/semitone etc pattern derived from the last chord of Piano Piece 1.

Commissioned note

Piano Piece 4 was published in "University Commissions 1984" organised by the combined NZ University music departments and printed by the University of Otago Music Department.

Contents note

four pieces

Performance history

03 Oct 1983: Performed by Gerard Parsons (piano)