Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet ('Tale of a City')

Year:  1989   ·  Duration:  10m

Year:  1989
Duration:  10m

Composer:   Geoffrey Hinds

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This is a set of variations inspired by Copland's Piano Variations and depicting Auckland rather than New York. Beginning quietly and sombrely, it moves steadily towards a fierce climax before dying away with a hint of better things to come. This work was written for the CANZ '90 series of concerts held at Auckland University. The composer is pleased with it and the way it was performed though it did not receive a very good review in Canzona; it was considered too restricted in its make-up. The composer is unrepentant.

Contents note

One movement: set of variations