Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Ko Wharepapa Te Maunga

for brass octet

Year:  1989   ·  Duration:  9m
Instrumentation:  2 trumpets, 4 french horns, trombone, tuba

Year:  1989
Duration:  9m
Instrumentation  2 trumpets, 4 french horns,...

Composer:   Helen Fisher

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-4

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This brass octet with its somewhat dense texture of waiata-like fragments, is inspired by the spatial as well as the dynamic and energetic qualities of the mountain. The Maori title may translate as 'The Mountain Called Wharepapa', which is the original name for Mount Arthur in the Nelson district, a significant mountain in my childhood landscape. This piece is dedicated to the memory of my father, Tas McKee.

Dedication note

To T.J.M. (the composer's father)

Contents note

One movement

Performance history

Performed by Victoria Brass Ensemble conducted by John Young