Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Anniversary Suite No. 2

for orchestra

Year:  1965   ·  Duration:  16m

Year:  1965
Duration:  16m

Composer:   David Farquhar

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1, 7, 14, 25, 31, 45, 61 and 68

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


These pieces were originally piano duets, written with one easy part for my wife to play, and presented to her on various anniversary occasions in the 1960s. This orchestral suite was arranged for the 1965 Cambridge Summer Music School, and first performed there by the school's orchestra. The translation from piano to orchestral sounds makes many opportunities for variety of colours and for real sostenuto. But while orchestral sound is bound to be very different, I have attempted in the Trio of the Mexicana to capture something of the effect of the piano's harmonic resonance to provide sustaining echoes of the oboe's tune.

Contents note

  1. Prelude
  2. Invocation
  3. Waltz
  4. Interlude
  5. Boating
  6. Mexicana
  7. Interlude
  8. Galop

Performance history

Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra conducted by Kenneth Young in 1997