Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for orchestra

Year:  1990   ·  Duration:  27m
Instrumentation:  2*2*2*2*; 4330; 3 perc.; strings | (Perc: extensive standard percussion)

Year:  1990
Duration:  27m
Instrumentation  2*2*2*2*; 4330; 3 perc.; st...

Composer:   Lyell Cresswell

Films, Audio & Samples

Lyell Cresswell: Ylur - AUDIO

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This eight-movement orchestral work, commissioned by the St. Magnus Festival, is concerned with different aspects of sorrow. Along with the music there are pastel drawings on sandpaper by Maurizio Bottarelli which give different perspectives of the same search for an understanding of sorrow.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the St Magnus Festival, Scotland

Contents note

eight movements

Performance history

25 May 2007: Made in New Zealand 2007

Performed by the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra conducted by Takuo Yuasa