Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


A Modern Ecstasy

for mezzo-soprano, baritone, and orchestra

Year:  1986   ·  Duration:  45m
Instrumentation:  2*2*2*2; 4331; timp., perc. (2); str | (Perc: susp.cym (3), casta., sn.dr, bs.dr, tb.bells, xylo., cimbalom)

Year:  1986
Duration:  45m
Instrumentation  2*2*2*2; 4331; timp., perc....

Composer:   Lyell Cresswell

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-4, 74-75. and 100-101

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This orchestral work with mezzo-soprano and baritone soloists was commissioned anonymously for the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and is inspired by "Macbeth" Act IV Sc III. The text is by Patrick McGuire and the work is in seven movements.

Commissioned note

Commissioned anonymously

Text note

Text: Patrick Maguire

Performance history

Performed by the CSR Symphony Orchestra conducted by Richard Bernas with soloists Nigel Leeson-Williams (baritone) and Patricia Boylan (soprano)

+ Read More