Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for harp and orchestra

Year:  2005   ·  Duration:  12m 50s
Instrumentation:  solo harp; 2*222; 2200; timp.; strings

Year:  2005
Duration:  12m 50s
Instrumentation  solo harp; 2*222; 2200; tim...

Films, Audio & Samples

Gillian Whitehead: Karohiro...

Embedded audio
See details ➔

Kenneth Young introduces 'K...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00" - 1'00"

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 3-10 (first 8 pages of score)

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Karohirohi, which means iridescent, shimmering, the sparkling of light on water, is the point of arrival rather than of departure in this piece. Written for the forces of a classical symphony, Karohirohi draws on characteristics of classical form, and of classical concerto form, not so much in terms of exposition, development and recapitulation, nor in terms of the syntactical sentence and period structure (although these aspects are doubtless present), but more in the sense of classical style as it was perceived in the eighteenth century. At that time there was a gradual rather than an abrupt change away from the characteristics of Baroque music, and classical masterpieces drew on and seamlessly combined a variety of influences. In the background were the dance forms of the Baroque, but on to these were mapped remnants of older styles - learned style, such as fugue and imitation, styles from different genres, or forms of expression, such as brilliant or virtuoso style, singing style, or sensibility style, and even imitative styles, such as military fanfares and hunting calls. Karohirohi, to my ears, like much music written today, is similarly eclectic, drawing on a range of references appropriate to this time and place. Its single movement incorporates various aspects of three-movement concerto form, before dissipating in a coda. Karohirohi is dedicated to Carolyn Mills.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra for Carolyn Mills, 2005.

Dedication note

Dedicated to Carolyn Mills

Performance history

23 Jun 2006: Performed by Carolyn Mills (harp) and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra cond. Alexander Lazarev; Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington

19 Mar 2007: Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra with Carolyn Mills (harp)

19 Aug 2007: Gillian Whitehead Portrait

Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Marc Taddei, with soloist Carolyn Mills

26 Jul 2024: Opus | Karohirohi (Hamilton)

27 Jul 2024: Opus | Karohirohi (Tauranga)

28 Jul 2024: Opus | Karohirohi (Rotorua)

+ Read More