Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Four Short Pieces

for solo piano

Year:  1988   ·  Duration:  7m

Year:  1988
Duration:  7m

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Excerpts from pages 4, 6, 7 and 8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Four Short Pieces were commissioned for Allen's Australian Bicentennial Anthology of piano music, published in 1988 and now long out of print. The details of the first performance are unknown; the first performance I heard was by Anna Klymashivka in Sydney in 1996. The pieces perhaps suggest nature images, but the only one that was a reaction to something specific is the last, which was suggested by watching and hearing a beck in spate (or flooded stream) on the west coast of Scotland

Contents note

Work written in four movements:
II. Sensitively
III. With Energy
IV. Fiercely