Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



ballet in three acts for full orchestra, based on the life of Jean Batten

Year:  1990   ·  Duration:  1h 30m
Instrumentation:  3*121; 2220; 3 perc.; keyboards; harp; strings (10-8-6-6-4) and tape

Year:  1990
Duration:  1h 30m
Instrumentation  3*121; 2220; 3 perc.; keybo...

Composer:   Jonathan Besser


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Commissioned note

Commissioned by Royal NZ Ballet Company assisted by the Todd Foundation

Contents note

Act One: 1. Introduction, 2. Country Dance, 3. Family, 4. Mother and Daughter, 5. London bar scene, 6. Machine dance, 7. Jean gets her plane
Act Two: 8. Storm, 9. Pas de deux, 10. Cloud dance, 11. Arrival, 12. Family, 13. Going to war
Act Three: 14. Jean breaks down, 15. Mother and Jean travel, 16. Jean the recluse, 17. Comeback, bar scene and death, 18. Jean the legend

Performance history

Performed by the Auckland Philharmonia conducted by Sir William Southgate with Colin Taylor (piano); additional backing tapes that appear throughout the performance are by Free Radicals (Jonathan Besser and Ross Harris)

+ Read More