Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Waiata Māori Music Awards 2021


Māori Television game show presenter Luke Bird of LUCKY DIP fame and radio personality and MC extraordinaire Kiino Krystal Edwards, will host the 14TH ANNUAL WAIATA MĀORI MUSIC AWARDS to be streamed on MĀORI+ and mā on Saturday 9 October 2021 at 7.00 PM.

The Awards promise to be a who’s who of Waiata Māori Music, with performances by Waiata Māori Music Awards Ambassadors Maisey Rika, Tipene Harmer, Amba Holly, taonga pūoro practitioner Horomona Horo, Ainslie Allen, I.A, 5 Minutes of Fame winner Perēri King, Sianne, the Tuari Brothers and a finale performance by New Zealand music royalty, Stan Walker.

 Talking with Toni Huata as she reflects on her memories of the Waiata Māori Music Awards founded by her Uncle Tama Huata. This year celebrates the 14th National Waiata Māori Music Awards and as we navigate the times this year like last, will be a LIVE event held online.

 "There are so many wonderful memories of the Waiata Māori Music Awards over the years. I have attended many as a performer, finalist or judge. I have also attended to support the kaupapa of Māori music, composers, musicians and performers. 

 The launch of the awards in 2007 was used to honour Sir Howard Morrison (OBE), composer Tommy Taurima, Missy and Tui Teka as well as kapahaka legends Ngāpō and Pīmia Wehi. Looking back to the works of those pioneers and many others allows us to gain momentum and inspiration towards the future of Māori Music where generations of artists both timeless and emerging are filling homes, schools, communities, workplaces and yes, news stations as well with their messages not just nationwide but internationally too.

 “The legacy of this event is profound and one that uncle Tama foresaw through to fruition. Now under cousin Ellison, Narelle, Ariki and whānau, it remains a significant awards event that celebrates our Māori music industry.”

Congratulations to the finalists in this year’s Awards event:

Best Māori Hip Hop Album:`

Adam Tukiri – SON

Kings - Raplist

Tipene Harmer - Heritage Trail

Vayne - Gutta Girl

Best Māori RnB Album:

Louis Baker - Love Levitates

Mara TK - Bad Meditation

Mistee K - The Next Chapter

Troy Kingi - The Ghost of Freddie Cesar

Best Māori Roots/Reggae Album:

Grove Roots - Iwi

NLC - Trouble

Best Māori Pop Album:

Anna Coddington - Beams

L.A.B - L.A.B IV

Teeks - Something to Feel

Troy Kingi - The Ghost of Freddie Cesar

Best Māori Tāne Solo Artist: 

Mara TK


Tipene Harmer

Troy Kingi

Best Māori Wāhine Solo Artist: 

Ainslie Allen

Anna Coddington

Mistee K


Best Māori Group:



Morse Gang

Tomorrow People

Best Single By a Māori Artist:

Hāni Dread - Kōkiri

Hawkins - Can't Leave It Alone

L.A.B - Why Oh Why

Stan Walker - Bigger

Tipene Harmer - Tūrangawaewae

Best Māori Songwriter:

L.A.B - Why Oh Why

Mara TK - Te Kete Aronui

Teeks - Remember Me

Tipene Harmer - Tūrangawaewae

Troy Kingi - All Your Ships Have Sailed 

Best Music Video by a Māori Artist:

Grove Roots - Atua Māori 

L.A.B - Why Oh Why

Stan Walker – Bigger

Teeks – Younger

Troy Kingi - First Take Strut

You can stream the event live on YouTube