Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Bruce Paine | ...still we sang — CD


Bruce Paine | ...still we sang — CD

Audio/visual Publication year: 2024

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Track Listing:

  1. Reminiscence
    When all was quiet, still we sang
  2. Birdsong
  3. Imitation
  4. Avian Antics
  5. Dawn Reflections
  6. Transition
  7. Springtime Finale

Nocturnal Suite
8. Nocturne
9. Drowsing
10. Nightmare

West Coast Suite
11. Prelude
12. Cascade
13. Rakaia Zealandia
14. Rock Hopping
15. Hot Sand

Comprising all premiere recordings of original solo classical guitar compositions, Bruce Paine's album '…still we sang' showcases his musicianship, distinctive guitar playing and wonderfully eclectic style of writing.

Drawing inspiration from personal experiences, Paine's compositions evoke themes of nostalgia, urban birdsong, nocturnal dreamscapes, and the rugged beauty of Auckland's west coast. Each soundtrack is a product of Paine's improvisation, introspection, and meticulous craftsmanship, offering a rich tapestry of textures and dynamics.

Accompanying the music is a visual journey crafted from the beautiful artwork of Frances Paine, the late mother of the artist. Watercolour paintings and pastels, including abstracts and scenes from Auckland's west coast, have been thoughtfully curated to complement the album's soundscapes. This symbiotic relationship between music and art serves as a tribute to Frances's memory, adding a deeply personal dimension to the project.

This album promises a captivating aural and visual experience, inviting audiences to immerse themselves in the nuanced beauty of solo classical guitar.