Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Dadson and Thorne | Aurongo ~ Inner Listening — CD


Dadson and Thorne | Aurongo ~ Inner Listening — CD

Audio/visual Publication year: 2023



To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Click here for the downloadable MP3 album

Two albums cut from the same cloth. The first presents the original, improvised recordings of Phil Dadson (playing a multi-voiced bespoke instrument called the “gloop”) and Rob Thorne (playing his evocative taonga pūoro). Steve Garden takes a more improvised approach for the second album, reshaping the material into three suites that traverse very different aural environments.

AURONGO—INNER LISTENING is an innovative musical journey, a collaborative work that seeks to immerse listeners in a sonic landscape rich in imaginative possibilities, a mesmerising album in which indigenous tradition and contemporary innovation converge.

Track listing:

Aurongo — 
1. Ngā Tamariki a Kōpū
2. Basalt Iho
3. Paerangi
4. Virgin Forest
5. Ngā Kapua Whakapipi
6. Igneous
7. Ao Rangitahi
8. Clearing Skies
9. Amotai Moana
10. Magellan Clouds
11. Hine Mārama Iorangi
12. Canis Major
13. He Konene
14. Puriri seed

Inner Listening
15. Invoking interested parties
16. No longer sleeping
17. Cartelosis
18. Establishing the rules
19. The waiting room
20. And then, he appears
21. Points of order
22. Searching for Paddlefoot
23. Celestiolai
24. Getting one's point across
25. Researching the facts
26. Deep-sea diving
27. Fishing for completists
28. The neighbours are restless tonight
29. Throwing away the key