Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Kirsten Te Rito | Āiotanga - CD


Kirsten Te Rito | Āiotanga - CD

Audio/visual Publication year: 2015

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


"Āiotanga" is the sophomore te reo Māori album release from award winning singer-songwriter, Kirsten Te Rito.

The 11 track album features a flood of catchy tunes and ear worms - from the bubbly title track "He Āiotanga" to the provocative "Te Rāwhiti" and the downbeat "Aotearoa".

Kirsten co-writes and produces along side her husband and pianist James "Illkeys" Illingworth.

"We really wanted to showcase the Māori language in amongst our style of music, with groovy fat beats, lush vocals, samples and synths".

The songs range widely in topic. "Taonga Māpuna" was based on the whakataukī "taku hei piripiri, taku hei mokimoki, taku hei tāwhiri, taku kati taramea" and speaks of the bond between mother and child, finding inspiration from the love she has for her own two sons.

The making of this album was fitted in around other tours in Australia and Europe with Australian hip hop band, Bliss n Eso and New Zealand bands WAI, and The Pink Floyd Experience as well as her own NZ tour and gigs.

Track listing:

  1. He Āiotanga
  2. Te Aroha
  3. Taonga Māpuna
  4. Aotearoa
  5. Wairangi
  6. Te Rāwhiti
  7. Kōrero i ō Kōrero
  8. Tamaiti Ngaro
  9. Pahu
  10. Me Tohu Nga Tamāriki