Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Nick Granville Group | Refractions - downloadable MP3 ALBUM

Digital sound file mp3

Nick Granville Group | Refractions - downloadable MP3 ALBUM




To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at



An album of lead sheets to accompany this CD is available here.

Refractions is the first outing on Rattle Jazz from Wellington-­‐based guitarist/composer, Nick Granville, here joined by the Auckland dream-­‐team of Roger Manins (sax), Olivier Holland (bass) and Ron Samsom (drums).

All of the tunes for this album were the result of Nick’s study of (and respect for) the music of American jazz luminary, guitarist John Scofield – one of the most distinctive voices in jazz for more than 30-­‐years. While the Scofield influence is evident throughout, the dominant voice on Refractions is unmistakably that of Nick and his exceptional sidemen.

But this album is far more than a mere homage. Nick pursues his personal artistic vision with a single-­‐minded rigour that nods to the past, enriches the present, and produces a new combination of elements that look to the future.

Recorded by John Kim and David Ryland at the Kenneth Myers Centre, Auckland, November 2012. Mixed and mastered by Steve Garden, July 2013.

Click below to hear audio samples and download individual tracks:

  1. Blues Suite
  2. Shuffleupagus
  3. Pinched Nerve
  4. Blues for Les
  5. Tossed Salad and Scrambled Eggs
  6. Refractions
  7. Ornette-ology
  8. Gloves Off
  9. New Orleans on a Long Lead
  10. Muddy Side Up

This MP3 album is also available in High-Resolution audio. Contact


Publisher note

Rattle Records/SOUNZ licence: available to download