Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Meehan, Griffin, Chisholm | Small Holes in the Silence - downloadable MP3 ALBUM

Digital sound file mp3

Meehan, Griffin, Chisholm | Small Holes in the Silence - downloadable MP3 ALBUM




To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at



Norman Meehan (piano) Hannah Griffin (voice) Hayden Chisholm (saxophone)

Following the popular and critically acclaimed Buddhist Rain and Making Baby Float, Norman Meehan and Hannah Griffin teamed up with saxophonist Hayden Chisholm for this third instalment in their New Zealand poetry series. The relaxed serendipitous style of Norman and Hannah fits Hayden like a glove. A musician of remarkably understated confidence and sensitivity, Hayden's wonderfully nuanced phrases float effortlessly around the restrained sensitivity of Norman and Hannah.

This is music born of years of dedication to craft and commitment to musical integrity. As Norman and Hannah proved with their previous releases, and as Bill Manhire points out in his perceptive liner notes, it takes great skill and humility to ensure that the original poetry can freely speak when it would be easy to overwhelm it with music. Instead, these three fine musicians have created a framework in which sound and text enjoy a harmonious artistic partnership.

  • Rattle Records

Track Listing:

  1. High Country Weather 01:57
  2. Rain 02:24
  3. Erewhon 05:04
  4. Ballad of the Hurting Girl 04:32
  5. Blue Rain 02:59
  6. Death of a Poet 03:39
  7. Dreams, Yellow Lions 04:51
  8. Words and Roses 04:14
  9. Warehouse Curtains 06:31
  10. Frost 07:12
  11. To Elespie, Ian & their Holy Whanau 01:49
  12. Yellow Room 04:59


Publisher note

Rattle Records/SOUNZ licence: available to download