Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Douglas Lilburn: Collected Songs (1940-50) - hardcopy SCORE

Hardcopy typeset

Douglas Lilburn: Collected Songs (1940-50) - hardcopy SCORE

Full score Publication year: 2017

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Douglas Lilburn composed these songs, with texts by New Zealand poets, at various times between 1940–50. “Willow Song” was written as part of the incidental music for Ngaio Marsh’s production of “Othello” by the Canterbury University Players in 1944. “Willow Song”, “Song Thinking of Her Dead” and “O Fons Bandusiae” were broadcast by 3YA on 29 November 1946. “The Islands” and “Always, in These Islands” are two parts of the poem “The Islands” by Charles Brasch.


  1. “The Islands” (1948), words by Charles Brasch
  2. “Always, in These Islands” (1948), words by Charles Brasch
  3. “Li Po in Spring” (1947), words by James K. Baxter
  4. “Summer’s Sadness” (1940), words by D’Arcy Cresswell
  5. “Lines in Autumn” (1950), words by Basil Dowling
  6. “Holiday Piece” (1946, rev. 1950), words by Denis Glover
  7. “Willow Song” (1944), words by Shakespeare (Othello)
  8. “Song Thinking of Her Dead” (1946), words by R. A. K. Mason
  9. “O Fons Bandusiae” (1946), words by Horace (trans. R. A. K. Mason)


35pp; iv; 31p.


Publisher note

Waiteata Music Press