Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Gamelan Padhang Moncar & Gamelan Taniwha Jaya | NAGA - CD


Gamelan Padhang Moncar & Gamelan Taniwha Jaya | NAGA - CD

Audio/visual Publication year: 2014

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Sample Audio Clockwork Dancer

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio Two Transcriptions

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio Lagu improvisasi

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio From Shadows

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio Headrush

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio de la noche, de la muerte

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio Green River

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio Delirious Euphoria

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"

Sample Audio Szunn

Sample: 0'00"-1'00"



For three-weeks of July 2013, the New Zealand School of Music’s two gamelan ensembles toured six Indonesian cities. The compositions on Naga were specially written for this tour.

Gamelan Padhang Moncar is a Central Javanese-style gamelan. In 1980, the Indonesian Embassy presented a pelog-mode set of instruments on permanent loan to the Victoria University of Wellington School of Music. A complementary slendro set was later purchased by the university, thus creating a complete pelog-slendro gamelan. Director: Budi Putra

Gamelan Taniwha Jaya is a Balinese gong keybar gamelan. Commissioned by Gareth Farr in 2003, the set was made by Pak Rantes in Denpasar. Again, the name Taniwha Jaya is used to denote the group of musicians who perform within this particular gamelan ensemble. Director: Gareth Farr

Featuring compositions by: Tristan Carter (b.1985); Megan Collins (b.1971); Jason Erskine (b.1975); Gareth Farr (b.1968); Jack Hooker (b.1990); Anton Killin (b.1986); Annika Naschitzki (b.1984); Briar Prastiti (b.1992)

Track Listing:

  1. Gareth Farr - Headrush 05:05
  2. Briar Prastiti - Clockwork Dancer 05:42
  3. Jack Hooker - Green River 07:18
  4. Jason Erskine - Padhasapa 07:08
  5. Anton Killin - Lagu Improvisasi 02:58
  6. Megan Collins - Tinggal 06:26
  7. Briar Prastiti - De la Noche, de la Muerte 07:43
  8. Anton Killin - Two Transcriptions 06:24
  9. Anton Killin - From Shadows 09:33
  10. Jack Hooker - SZUNN 06:47
  11. Tristan Carter - Naga 09:35
  12. Briar Prastiti - Delirious Euphoria 08:00
  13. Annika Naschitski - Volcano Song


Publisher note

Rattle Records