Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

SOUNZ Virtual Concert

Maria Grenfell's contrapuntal 'Clockwerk' kicks off this programme inspired by construction, robots, and unusual musical instruments. Jason Long expertly melds live electronics with the sounds of a robotic glockenspiel in 'Broken Mirror', while Alex Taylor deconstructs a series of dances in 'burlesques mècaniques'. David Hamilton's lively 'Hurdy Gurdy' evokes the eponymous string instrument with the medieval melody 'Como poden per sas culpas'.

 Programme | Hōtaka 

Maria Grenfell: Clockwerk
Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Marc Taddei

Jason Long: Broken Mirror
or Closed-loop Robotic Glockenspiel and live electronics, operated by the composer

Alex Taylor: burlesques mécaniques
Performed by NZ Trio, presented by Chamber Music NZ

David Hamilton: Hurdy Gurdy
Performed by members of the Auckland Chamber Orchestra, Peter Scholes (clarinet), Jennifer Mori (flute), Miranda Adams (violin) and Sarah Watkins (piano)

Approximate running time: 43 minutes