Sub Navigation


  • for solo violin and string orchestra
  • By:
17' 00"

1. 'S un casto amor, s' un una pieta superna'
2. 'Passa per gli occhi al core in un momento'
3. 'D'altrui pietoso e sol di se spietato'
4. 'Veggio nel bel viso, signor mio'
5. 'Non posso altra figura immaginarmi'
6. 'Se' da' prim' anni aperto un lento e poco...'
7. 'Caro m'e il sonno, e piu l'esser di sasso'

Programme Note

The work is based on a previous composition of Jack Body, a setting for two female voices of the love sonnets of Michelangelo, composed in 1982 for dance/choreographer Michael Parmenter. Body has been fond of the melodic material composed many years ago and continued to be moved by Michelangelo’s poetry, which honours male beauty and laments the ravages of age.

In this new version, commissioned by the Japanese violinist Rieko Suzuki, Body rework the musical material, intensifying its emotional quality of convey the essence of Michelangelo’s extraordinary poems.

Commissioned by Rieko Suzuki

Performance History

World Premiere for P: Meditations on Michelangelo; Hilhorst and Ensemble Ruspoli 080208 08 Feb 2008 Kees Hilhorst (solo violin) with Ensemble Ruspoli; Netherlands
03 Sep 2008 Performed by Kees Hilhorst (violin) and the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Scott Parkman, as part of the 2008 NZSO-SOUNZ Readings held at the Michael Fowler Centre, Wellington
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra
25 Mar 2014 Performed by the New Zealand School of Music Orchestra and Martin Riseley (violin), and conducted by Kenneth Young, at the Sacred Heart Cathedral, in Wellington



Shopping Cart