Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

Meditations on Michelangelo

for solo violin and string orchestra

Year:  2007   ·  Duration:  17m

Year:  2007
Duration:  17m

Jack Body

Composer:   Jack Body


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Programme note

The work is based on a previous composition of Jack Body, a setting for two female voices of the love sonnets of Michelangelo, composed in 1982 for dance/choreographer Michael Parmenter. Body has been fond of the melodic material composed many years ago and continued to be moved by Michelangelo's poetry, which honours male beauty and laments the ravages of age.

In this new version, commissioned by the Japanese violinist Rieko Suzuki, Body rework the musical material, intensifying its emotional quality of convey the essence of Michelangelo's extraordinary poems.

+ Read More

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Rieko Suzuki

Performance history

08 Feb 2008: Ensemble Ruspoli

02 Sep 2008: 2008 NZSO-SOUNZ Readings 2

25 Mar 2014: NZSM Orchestra: Dreams and Meditations

Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra and Martin Riseley, and conducted by Kenneth Young