Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

Blue Work

A Short Suite

for saxophone quartet

Year:  1994   ·  Duration:  10m
Instrumentation:  soprano, alto, tenor and baritone saxophone<br><br>(A string quartet version of <i>A Short Suite</i> is also available.)<br><br>

Year:  1994
Duration:  10m
Instrumentation  soprano, alto, tenor and ba...

Composer:   Philip Norman

Films, Audio & Samples

Philip Norman: A Short Suit...

Embedded video
See details ➔


To borrow or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at Please note that only library members in New Zealand and Australia can borrow or hire parts.


Commissioned note

Commissioned by Mark Hobson for performance by 'Sax 4 Sax Sake'. Funding was provided by APRA and the Arts Council of NZ Toi Aotearoa.

Mark Hobson

Difficulty note

Recommended by the composer for the Schools' Chamber Music Contest. Suitable for players minimum grade 6, requiring a strong soprano player.

Contents note

1: Introduction; 2: Chorale; 3: Calypso; 4: Blues; 5: Finale.

Performance history

19 Nov 2009: Lunchtime Concert at CAC

31 Jul 2010: Performed by Sw!tch: Alice Morgan (soprano sax), Claire Elliott (alto sax), Sarah Vergeer (tenor sax), Logan Glasson (baritone sax) - Burnside High School