Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for viola and piano

  ·  Duration:  12m

Duration:  12m

David Hamilton

Composer:   David Hamilton

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: first three pages of score

See details ➔
Sample Audio

Sample: 0’00” – 1’00”
from Ashworth & Watkins | Moonstone

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Alchemy has been defined as “...the process of taking something ordinary and turning it into something extraordinary, sometimes in a way that cannot be explained.” The title of this work was simply a starting point, although, as with any composition, there is an element of using various musical materials in differing combinations to create a whole. There are broadly three sections in the piece in a traditional ternary form structure. The middle section is reflective, while the outer sections are energetic, often with a busy accompaniment and constantly changing time signatures. — D.H.

Commissioned note

commissioned by Robert Ashworth with funding from Creative New Zealand