Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Echoes and Cries

for chamber quartet

Year:  2019   ·  Duration:  5m
Instrumentation:  clarinet in Bb, crotales, electric guitar, cello

Year:  2019
Duration:  5m
Instrumentation  clarinet in Bb, crotales, e...

Jacob Barrett

Composer:   Jacob Barrett

Films, Audio & Samples

Jacob Barrett: Echoes and C...

Embedded video
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first page of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Inspired by the works of Penderecki and Lutoslawski, as well as other 20th century aleatoric music, the intention of Echoes and Cries was to create a piece of acoustic aleatoric music that clearly communicated a sense of ambience and mystery to the listener. Each performer is invited to explore and experiment with a wide variety of techniques and playing styles to create an immersive musical experience which can be appreciated for its small and large details alike. The title reflects the nature of the piece as motivic ideas often begin as cries and then carry on as echoes, fading in and out of focus as new ideas rise to prominence. The idea of focussing on intimate details is further explored through the motif of the cry (microtonal slide/pitch bend), which repeats throughout the piece as a constant echo of the original, yet somehow still transforming and changing to match the mood of individual sections.