Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The Musical Box Suite

for solo piano

Year:  2006   ·  Duration:  8m 30s

Year:  2006
Duration:  8m 30s

Colin Decio

Composer:   Colin Decio

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: pages 1 and 2 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Musical Box Suite is in four movements:

1. The Little Music Box: describes a beautiful little sweet sounding music box
2. The Little Ballerina Dances: played with sustain pedal throughout describes a little model of a ballerina twirling in the music box when the lid is opened
3. The Singing Wood: a fiery waltz with more sinister undertones
4. The Many Layered Russian Doll: each doll-within-a-doll is described in music with a 'Russian' flavoured theme

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Dr. Mark Tanner

Contents note

  1. The Little Music Box
  2. The Little Ballerina Dances
  3. The Singing Wood
  4. The Many Layered Russian Doll

Performance history