Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.



for string quartet

Year:  2019   ·  Duration:  21m 12s
Instrumentation:  2 violins, viola, cello

Year:  2019
Duration:  21m 12s
Instrumentation  2 violins, viola, cello

Robert Bryce

Composer:   Robert Bryce

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: pages 1–5 of score

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The word scáthán means a mirror in Gaeilge (Irish) and comes from the word scáth, which translates to shade, shadow, or reflection. The concepts of light, shadow, reflectivity, meditation, diffusion, refraction, and glass have all inspired the construction of this piece on an abstract level. The string quartet over the course of four movements explores these thoughts through the use of intervallic relationships and systematic approaches which are presented in a minimal, reductionist fashion to wash over the audience. The movements are slow-moving, sparse, and static at times but create a listening experience that has a relaxing and calming quality in completion.