Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Three dances of the Ocean, Sky and Forest

for harp ensemble

Year:  2020   ·  Duration:  15m
Instrumentation:  lever or pedal harp ensemble

Year:  2020
Duration:  15m
Instrumentation  lever or pedal harp ensembl...

Composer:   Michelle Velvin

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: first page of each movement (full score)

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Three Dances of the Ocean, Sky and Forest is a suite of three dances to be performed by harp ensemble, with live dancers interwoven into the performance. Each movement has a unique character for the musicians and dancers to explore:

'Of the Ocean' is a murmuring evocation of swirling waves and a lone light seen far out into the sea.
'Of the Sky' is the lightness of the air as birds flitter and turn delicately amongst the clouds.
'Of the Forest' is the journey through a darkened forest.

Commissioned note

2019 SOUNZ Community Commission for the Auckland Harp Orchestra

Dedication note

Thank you to Anna Dunwoodie and the Auckland Harp Orchestra for all your hard work in bringing my music to life

Contents note

I. Of the Ocean (A lyrical dance)
II. Of the Sky (A slipjig)
III. Of the Forest (A tango)