Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


eight miniatures for piano

for solo piano

Year:  2011   ·  Duration:  7m

Year:  2011
Duration:  7m

Alex Taylor

Composer:   Alex Taylor

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: pages 1, 2, 8

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


These miniatures are an exploration of musical geometries: space, time, line, synchronicity and movement. The collection is a juxtaposition of shapes: fluid and concrete, organic and mechanical, robust and fragile. Each movement explores a particular spatial concept:

I. [horizon] II. [dislocation] III. [impulse 1] IV. [distance] V. [diagonal 1] VI. [intersection] VII. [diagonal 2] VIII. [impulse 2]

The movements are paired: I & IV; II & VI; III & VIII; V & VII. Together they represent an attempt to simplify and concentrate my rhythmic language while retaining the intensity of a previous piano piece, [f]at[on]ality. Throughout the set, a number of jagged rhythmic motifs rupture and finally completely replace the initially calm musical surface. These eight miniatures were written for two good friends, Simon Edwards and pianist Flavio Villani.