Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


The New Zeibekiko

for clarino, percussion quartet and orchestra

Year:  2010   ·  Duration:  1h 30m
Instrumentation:  Clarino; 2(pic),2(ca),2(B-flat & E-flat),2(cb.); 4331; timp, 3perc; harp; strings

Year:  2010
Duration:  1h 30m
Instrumentation  Clarino; 2(pic),2(ca),2(B-f...

Composer:   John Psathas


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The New Zeibekiko is an intoxicating journey through 2,500 years of Hellenic musical history, from the temples of ancient Delphi to the exhilarating heart of 21st century Athens and the Greek islands. Sacred, profane and thrilling, this is a powerful musical odyssey, bringing together living practitioners of mystical, musical arts with the rich vibrancy of today’s symphony orchestra. Manos Achalinotopoulos and Petros Kourtis are custodians of ancient musical traditions. They are master musicians, deep, soulful, and electrifying.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra during John Psathas' tenure as the APO's Composer-in-Residence.

Contents note

1. Manos solo
2. Bacchic
3. To Ponemeno Stithos Mou
4. Ianni To Mandili Sou
5. Kartsigar
6. Tarantismo
7. Byzantine Memories
8. Percussion Highlight
9. Aolian Song
10. Tecmessa's Lament
11. Hymn to the Muse
12. 1st Pythian Ode
13. Doxastiko
14. Maktrismos
15. Aivaliotiko
16. Maenads
(optional encore: Bacchic - repeat from bar 49) (10)

Performance history