Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Four Scenes

for mixed chamber ensemble

  ·  Duration:  9m
Instrumentation:  alto flute, bass clarinet, trumpet in B flat, trombone, violin, viola, violoncello, double bass, guitar, harp and percussion (marimba, transistor radio, splash cymbal)

Duration:  9m
Instrumentation  alto flute, bass clarinet, ...

Composer:   Dylan Lardelli

Films, Audio & Samples

Dylan Lardelli: Four Scenes...

Embedded audio
See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Japanese classical musical drama Noh with its austere gestures and usual delineation of time has provided me with the initial inspiration for this piece. Upon preparation for a Noh drama the performers never rehearse together. Each musician and actor prepares their individual part alone. This enables the eventual performance to not be controlled by a single performer but alternatively by the interactions of the whole ensemble. The representation of time in a Noh production frequently is non-linear with plot alternating between numerous different time frames.

Dylan Lardelli

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Stroma

Dedication note

for Stroma

Performance history

24 Sep 2008: Strange Loops