Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Quartet for Brass

for two cornets, baritone and trombone

Year:  2007   ·  Duration:  6m

Year:  2007
Duration:  6m

David Hamilton

Composer:   David Hamilton


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This work was written for a group of students at New Plymouth Boys' High School. All were brass band players, hence the unusual combination of instruments. The requested score was to be 'not too difficult, not to slow' and with 'one fast movement and one slow movement'. In the end, the work became a four movement work, giving the players a choice of material.

The opening fanfare is the most dissonant movement, and features a lyrical melody idea that seems unable to properly assert itself. Every time it gets going it is overwhelmed by other ideas.

The Slow Tango uses a simple syncopated idea that moves around the various instruments during the course of the movement. The Waltz allows the 1st cornet and baritone a chance to take the limelight. The Rondo finale is a lively exploration of a simple melodic idea. The music includes a fugal section in the middle, before dashing to a energetic conclusion.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Music Department at New Plymouth Boys' High School