Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Trio for guitar, double bass and celesta

for guitar, double bass and celesta

Year:  2001   ·  Duration:  12m

Year:  2001
Duration:  12m

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 5,9,13,17 and 19

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


In the first and last movements, ‘Prologue’ and ‘Epilogue’, a ‘harmonic field’ upon which the piece is largely based is announced and subsequently commented upon. The four middle movements combine different melodic strands and timbres to create distinctive musical textures. In the second movement, simple repeated phrases alternate and overlap; movement three is livelier, with quickly interlocking triadic harmonies from all three instruments. The fourth movement is dedicated to the memory of Rev. Ray Oppenheimer – a mirror chorale and refrain featuring the lower register of the celesta, while in the fifth movement pizzicato double bass and guitar come to the fore in dance-like motion.

Composed for guitarist Kazuhito Yamashita and first performed in his concert of chamber works featuring guitar in the Kammer Virtuosen Zyklus at JT Art Hall, Tokyo, in April 2001.

Commissioned note

By Kazuhito Yamashita and Kammermusik Zyklus, Tokyo

Dedication note

Fourth movement dedicated to Rev. Ray Oppenheimer

Contents note

six movements