Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Double Concerto for bass clarinet and cello

for bass clarinet, cello and orchestra

Year:  1999   ·  Duration:  19m
Instrumentation:  bass clarinet and cello + 2222; 2200; 2 perc.; strings (approx. 8 7 6 5 2) | (Perc: bs.dr, sd.dr, glock., xylo., susp. cym)

Year:  1999
Duration:  19m
Instrumentation  bass clarinet and cello + 2...

Composer:   Anthony Ritchie

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: 0'00" - 1'00" (movt. II)

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-3, 22-24, 49, 51-53.

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The Double Concerto was designed to explore the unusal combination of solo instruments, extend the soloists and, at the same time, be performable by regional orchestras.

The opening movement has a lilting quality and is based on the Brahms' lullaby, which only appears (abridged) at the end, played on glockenspiel. The three themes that appear in this movement are related, in some way, to this lullaby. The movement is dedicated to my daughter Annabelle, who was born some months before the composition of this work. A short melody based on letters from her name (A-A-B-E-E) is played by the soloists in the coda.

By contrast, the second movement is fast and jagged, with a somewhat playful second theme shared between the soloists and woodwinds. The main theme has a toccata-like quality, and builds up to a strong conclusion.

Whereas birth was the theme behind the first movement, it is death that concerns the third, and in particular the sudden death of a close friend and musician, Angela Campbell, at the time of writing this concerto. It is an intimate piece for the two soloists only, and based on letters from Angela's name (A-G-E-A) which are heard at the beginning as a recurrent bass line. The cello melody at the start is a variation on a melody from the first movement, suggesting birth and death are inextricably linked.

The mood lightens in the finale which is a slightly bizarre waltz based on two contrasting themes. Near the end, the soloists have a cadenza which flows into the coda uninterrupted.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by Katherine Hebley (cello) and Andrew Uren (bass clarinet) and the Kahu Ensemble with funding from Creative New Zealand

Contents note

I. Lullaby for Annabelle
II. Fast Dance
III. In memoriam, for Angela (for bass clarinet and cello alone without orchestra)
IV. Waltz

Performance history

13 May 2001: Performed by Hawkes Bay Regional Orchestra with soloists Andrew Uren (bass clarinet) and Katherine Hebley (cello)

Performed by Andrew Uren (bass clarinet), Katherine Hebley (cello) with the Auckland Chamber Orchestra conducted by Peter Scholes

+ Read More