Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Percussion Concerto

for four percussion soloists and symphony orchestra

  ·  Duration:  23m
Instrumentation:  picc333bass cl3 (3 doubling contrabassoon);4331; piano; strings. Soloist1: marimba vibraphone. Soloist 2: timapni (4), triangle, tubular bells. Soloist 3: drum kit (3 toms, snare, hi-hat, 3 cymbals). Soloist 4: bongos (2), conga (1), glockenspiel, crotales, bass drum.

Duration:  23m
Instrumentation  picc333bass cl3 (3 doubling...

Composer:   John Psathas


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Commissioned note

Commissioned by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra

Dedication note

To my family: Carla, Emmanuel, Anastasia and Tania.

Contents note

Three movements

Performance history

12 Jul 1997: Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra cond. Jerzy Maksymiuk, Evelyn Glennie (principal percussionist); Aotea Centre, Auckland

07 Sep 2001: European premiere performed by Tiroler Symphonieorchester Innsbruck conducted by Georg Schmöhe with percussion soloists, Evelyn Glennie Gunnar Fras, Robert Pammer and Norbert Rabanser

Performed by the New Zealand Symphony Orchestra conducted by Jerzy Maksymiuk with soloists, Evelyn Glennie (mallets), Gunar Fras (Timpani), Norbet Rabanser (kit), Robert Pamner (Congas, bongos etc)

+ Read More