Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


kontinuum I

for saxophone quartet

Year:  1993   ·  Duration:  13m

Year:  1993
Duration:  13m

Composer:   Neville Hall

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Pages 34-42

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The notion of "form as a product of growth" was central to the process of composing kontinuum 1. A network of interrelated material is evolved from a single cell and it is the subsequent linking, overlapping and extending of this material generates the piece's thirteen short movements. Thus, rather than seeking contrast, all thirteen movements explore the same ideas, as if viewing the same object from many different angles. It is hoped that each movement has a very clear exterior shape which can be easily apprehended by the listener on first hearing the work. Within this is an interior containing sonic events that are extremely detailed, both in their make up and in their relationships to one another.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Zagreb Saxophone Quartet with assistance from the Queen Elizabeth II Arts Council (now Creative New Zealand) and the New Zealand Composers' Foundation

Dedication note

Composed for and dedicated to the Zagreb Saxophone Quartet

Contents note

Thirteen parts