Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Sonatina for Solo Flute/Piccolo

Year:  1988   ·  Duration:  15m

Year:  1988
Duration:  15m

Composer:   Martin Lodge

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: Page 1

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


A sustained and challenging four movement work for solo instrument, the player switches from standard flute to piccolo for the scherzo-like third movement. Individual movements, especially the haunting second one, are sometimes played on their own, a practice approved by the composer.

A renewed interest in melody as an important element of music, combined with a long-standing desire to explore the furthest technical reaches a solo instrument is capable of, led to the composition of this Sonatina. The work is not intended as a technical exercise, though. It aims to communicate with listeners on an intuitive musical level.

There are four movements. The first is a prelude, which begins by allowing the performer some rhythmic freedom before going on to develop the initial material.
The second movement is entitled 'Arietta' and is largely a gentle, reflective exploration of the melody.
A scherzo follows after a break only long enough to permit the performer to change from flute to piccolo. The scherzo contains overtly virtuosic passages, two very fast sections being separated by a brief reminiscence of the previous movement.
The player returns to the normal flute for the final movement, a fast-moving invention in two parts.

Dedication note

The Sonatina is dedicated to the New Zealand painter Brad Lochore.

Contents note

I. Preludio
II. Arietta
III. Scherzo
IV. Ritornelli

Performance history