Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Symphony for Strings - Three Images of Java

for string orchestra

Year:  1989   ·  Duration:  15m
Instrumentation:  Minimum strs: 8,6,5,4,3

Year:  1989
Duration:  15m
Instrumentation  Minimum strs: 8,6,5,4,3

Nigel Keay

Composer:   Nigel Keay

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Score

Sample: First two pages of each movement

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


In this three movement work for large string orchestra, the first movement is inspired by the image of a Javanese dancer accompanied by gamelan music and is reflected in the fast hocketing textures over long low bass notes analogous to the gamelan gongs. The central Adagio (for strings) is, quite unlike Barber's famous movement, quite deliberately without climax reflecting the constantly oppressive tropical heat. The last movement is of an intense nature such as found in the pressure of population.

Commissioned note

Composed while Composer in Residence at Nelson School of Music.

Contents note

Three movements; second movement also known as "Adagio for Strings"

Performance history

Performed by the Auckland Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by William Southgate.