Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Sonata movement in B minor

for viola and piano

Year:  1891   ·  Duration:  10m

Year:  1891
Duration:  10m

Alfred Hill

Composer:   Alfred Hill

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: 0’00” – 1’00”
from Ashworth & Watkins | Moonstone

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


The single-movement piece, Sonata movement in B minor was composed in 1891 at the end of four years of intensive instruction in composition with Gustav Schreck at the conservatorium in Leipzig. Although sketches in appropriate keys from early in Alfred's creative life have been found, other movements of this work have not been conclusively identified. In lists of his works, the composer only includes this movement with the title, Sonata (in one movement) for Violoncello and Pianoforte. He later transcribed it for viola and piano.

The movement nevertheless stands alone as a fine work, featuring effective melodic and harmonic contrasts, clever development of thematic material, and typical nineteenth-century employment of the sonata form.