Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


String Quartet

for string quartet

Year:  1989   ·  Duration:  18m

Year:  1989
Duration:  18m

Composer:   David Farquhar

Films, Audio & Samples

Sample Audio

Sample: 8:59-9:56

See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Page 1

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This was the first New Zealand work commissioned for the New Zealand String Quartet, which gave its first performance. A feature of the quartet's texture is the pairing of instruments, particularly in the second movement (of three) where a muted pair (violin II and viola) "shadow" the unmuted violin I and cello.

Commissioned note

Commissioned by the Music Federation and New Zealand String Quartet.

Performance history

Performed by the New Zealand String Quartet: Wilma Smith, Gillian Ansell (violins), Sandro Costantino (viola), Josephine Young (cello) in 1989

+ Read More