Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Voices of Ocean Winds

for SSAATTBB choir and orchestra

Year:  1989   ·  Duration:  38m
Instrumentation:  3*3*3*3*; 4331; timp., 3 perc; harp; strings

Year:  1989
Duration:  38m
Instrumentation  3*3*3*3*; 4331; timp., 3 pe...

Composer:   Lyell Cresswell

Films, Audio & Samples

Lyell Cresswell: Voices of ...

Embedded audio
See details ➔
Sample Score

Sample: Pages 1-2, 59-62, and 90-91

See details ➔


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


Voices of Ocean Winds is a five movement work based on Charles Brasch's Six Watercolours (after Doris Lusk). Movements I, III and V are settings of three of the poems, "Onekaka Beach", "Dark Stream" and Wharf at Onekaka", for choir and orchestra. Movements II and IV are for orchestra only but take the titles of two more of the poems: "Rocks at Oaro" and "Trees at Totaranui". The title of the whole work is from Brasch's Home Ground (ii):

City of nowhere. Quivering, fast at the edge of the void.
See, its stones are water, its words dust, its people
Voices of ocean winds, wheels that turn in the void,
Gulls shrilling and vanished in air.

The poems themselves say all that is needed to be said about the music.

Commissioned note

Commissoned by Concert Programme RNZ and NZSO.

Text note

Text by Charles Brasch