Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.

SOUNZ appoints Jerome Kavanagh as Chair | Toihau of Composers Advisory Panel

SOUNZ is delighted to announce the appointment of Jerome Kavanagh as the new Chair | Toihau of our Composers Advisory Panel (CAP).

Jerome Kavanagh is a Grammy award-winning soloist and Māori musical instrument specialist. He hails from the Mokai Patea, Maniapoto and Kahungunu tribes as well as the Caomhanach clan (Irish). Jerome was first introduced to the sound of taonga puoro by one of his aunties at the age of 16. A family-owned koauau (cross-blown flute) was the first instrument he recalls learning to play. Jerome is the current Creative New Zealand/New Zealand School of Music Composer-in-Residence which is associated with the Lilburn Residence otherwise known as 'The Magpie House'.

During lockdown 2020 Jerome worked closely with SOUNZ to produce Oro Atua: a puoro maori sound healing journey, and a series of educational taonga puoro films. 'Oro Atua' is SOUNZ's most viewed film with over 49,000 views and an audience reach that continues to grow.

Jerome says, “It’s great to be part of such a dynamic and diverse group that has a common vision. We’ve all seen the positive expansion of the SOUNZ mahi and this is reflected in the membership of CAP. I look forward to working with SOUNZ composers through this panel. Nāu te rourou, nāku te rourou, ka ora ai te iwi."

Jerome replaces Michael Norris, who has stepped down as Chair to be a full member of the SOUNZ board. We thank Michael for his leadership of CAP, which oversaw the expansion of the way in which SOUNZ represents non-scored works, including the development of policy related to our composer acceptance process, competitions, and other composer opportunities. We also thank other outgoing members of CAP for their meaningful contributions to SOUNZ over many years, and welcome several new members who will be joining our existing composers on CAP. We acknowledge and appreciate all that they contribute to SOUNZ.

The role of CAP is to provide the SOUNZ board and management with strategic input and feedback from the composition community.

CAP Members
Jerome Kavanagh – Chair | Toihau
Eva Bedggood
Simon Eastwood
Salina Fisher
Horomona Horo
Bridget Johnson
Jasmine Lovell-Smith
David Mason
Poulima Salima
Alex Taylor
Flo Wilson
Nikau Wi Neera