Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


John Rae and Lucien Johnson | The Troubles - downloadable MP3 ALBUM

Digital sound file mp3

John Rae and Lucien Johnson | The Troubles - downloadable MP3 ALBUM

Audio/visual Publication year: 2012



To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at



Lucien Johnson | saxophones and flute
John Rae | drums
Patrick Bleakley | double bass
Nick Van Dijk | trombone and trumpet
Daniel Yeabsley | saxophones and clarinet
Tristan Carter | violin
Andrew Filmer | viola
Charley Davenport | cello
Anthony Donaldson | percussion

Over a yearlong residency at Wellington’s Happy Bar, The Troubles developed and honed their quasi-anarchistic brand of meticulously composed music. From the coarse to the sublime, the emotive to the absurd, their music is inventive, passionate, honest, and wholly life affirming. Recorded on one of their exuberant evenings at Happy Bar in Wellington, their debut album is a moment of magic, a never to be repeated snapshot of one of New Zealand’s most original and engaging ensembles.

The band started as a trio comprised of Lucien, John and Patrick, growing to a quintet with the addition of Daniel and Nick. Lucien and John started writing for the group, and a solid original repertoire quickly developed. Tristan, Andrew and Charley, a string section willing to delve into unfamiliar territory, were added to the line-up, and wildcard percussionist Anthony brought along his toolkit to complete the line-up. Through word of mouth alone, Happy quickly became the place to be in Wellington on a Sunday night. After a year performing the material, the group was itching to record, and this self-titled debut is the glorious result.

Click below to hear audio samples and download individual tracks:

  1. Eastern Promises
  2. Les Oiseaux d'Amour
  3. It Starts With Silence
  4. Aspasia
  5. Mystique
  6. Yekannywackit
  7. An Eye for an eyelash
  8. Breadline Blues

This MP3 album is also available in High-Resolution audio. Contact


Publisher note

Rattle Records/SOUNZ licence: available to download