Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Henry Wong Doe | Pictures - CD


Henry Wong Doe | Pictures - CD

Audio/visual Publication year: 2017

Buy Borrow


To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at



Henry follows his widely acclaimed Landscape Preludes (2014) with a vibrant account of the Mussorgsky classic, Pictures at an Exhibition, brilliantly paired with new works from New Zealand composer, Eve de Castro-Robinson.

Showing the courage of his convictions, Henry tackles Mussorgsky's difficult work for solo piano in grand style. Rich and resonate, full of verve and passion, the set is beautifully balanced by Eve's suite of miniatures, an inspired choice that makes this recording one of Rattle's 'must-have' new releases.

“Recording Pictures at an Exhibition has been one of my long-cherished ambitions, but to have the opportunity of performing and recording new works composed especially for the project by one of my favourite composers is a dream come true. To produce the project in New Zealand with such great people, and to release it on Rattle is fantastic. I couldn’t be happier.” — Henry Wong Doe

Produced by Kenneth Young, engineered by Steve Garden (assisted by John Kim), designed by UnkleFranc, printed by Studio Q

Grateful thanks to Creative New Zealand and the Wallace Foundation for their support of this project.

Track listing:

  1. Promenade 1 01:14
  2. I. The Gnome 02:46
  3. Promenade 2 00:48
  4. II. The Old Castle 03:53
  5. Promenade 3 00:30
  6. III. The Tuileries Gardens 01:02
  7. IV. The Ox Cart (Bydlo) 03:23
  8. Promenade 4 00:49
  9. V. Ballet of Unhatched Chicks 01:17
  10. VI. Samuel Goldenberg and Schmuÿle 02:14
  11. Promenade 5 01:16
  12. VII. The Marketplace at Limoges 01:22
  13. VIII. Catacombs 03:44
  14. IX. The Hut on Hen's Legs (Baba-Yagá) 03:11
  15. X. The Great Gate of Kiev 05:40
  16. The Troubadour 01:37
  17. Diviner and minder 01:27
  18. Tingler 02:49
  19. White Interior #1 02:46
  20. Trick-or-treater 01:16
  21. Return 04:40
  22. Blue Lady 02:33
  23. The Passion Flower 01:49
  24. x (life, still. Baby) 01:21
  25. Big Pink Shimmering One 01:16


54m 45s


Publisher note

Rattle Records