Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Larry Pruden: Collected Edition Volume 7 - works for orchestra (III)

Hardcopy typeset

Larry Pruden: Collected Edition Volume 7  - works for orchestra (III)

Full score



To borrow items or hire parts please email SOUNZ directly at


This score is a ‘special order’ item – please contact SOUNZ to confirm availability.

Pruden retains a special place in the history of music in New Zealand. Alongside Douglas Lilburn, he was among the first generation of composers in the country to establish a genuine vernacular. This volume includes two arrangements of “God Save the Queen” and an arrangement of “Imperial Salute of Iran.” Of particular interest is a clever reinterpretation of Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture, titled Overture 1218. This volume also includes as an appendix Pruden’s unfinished overture Captain Cook.

The Collected Edition has been edited from extant source material and brings these essential works of Pruden into an elegant and definitive format. This volume is rich with historical and editorial notes about the works, which brings the music of this important New Zealand composer into the context of his career.


Publisher note

Promethean Editions