Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.
June 18, 2011 4:00PM

Southern Sinfonia - Mozart and Adams


Bach - Orchestra Suite No. 3
Mozart - Clarinet Concerto
Chris Adams - Symphonic Dances (world première)
Beethoven - Symphony No. 1

What a treat to have clarinetist Michael Collins perform Mozart's Clarinet Concerto. Reviewers of eminent publications have said of our star soloist "... the music sparkles in shaping of phrases that is magnetic ..."; "with elegantly phrased melodies, immaculate passagework and wondrously even trills...". It's hard to imagine Beethoven as a young and unknown composer. However, in 1880 the première of his first symphony well and truly announced Beethoven's talents to Vienna. Imagine how the audience, used to the purely classical styles of Haydn and Mozart, must have been shocked with the symphony beginning on a dissonant chord! Hot-off-the-press will be a commissioned work, Symphonic Dances composed by the University of Otago's Mozart Fellow, Chris Adams. A warm welcome back to Australian conductor Brett Kelly who maintains a busy and varied schedule, conducting the major Australian and New Zealand orchestras and opera companies.

Start time

June 18, 2011 4:00PM


King's and Queen's Performing Arts Centre


Cash only for door sales Tickets available from Regent ticket office or "Ticketdirect online":