Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Olga Parshotam



Olga was born in Whangarei, New Zealand into a Dorofaeff family of five and educated at Christ West High School, Canterbury University College followed by Teacher's Training College. Olga completed her studies with FTCL, LMusTCL and LTCL in piano and violin and a MusB from Canterbury University College and has been a Registered Music Teacher since 1957.

After her formal studies in music, Olga's busy life continued away from the shores of New Zealand when she made her 'home' in Suva, Fiji in 1959 raising three children and at the same time teaching music and performing with international guest artists. In 1975, Olga accompanied Donald Maurice at the Suva Town Hall where he played Shostokovich's Sonata, the composer's last composition. During her 29 years in Fiji, Olga promoted and taught classical music to hundreds of students many who sat and passed Trinity College Exams (theory and practical) which were practically unknown during her earlier years in Fiji. As a member of the Fiji Arts Council, Olga arranged and organised a number of concerts for visiting artists and performed in numerous concerts for the Arts Council.

Upon her return to New Zealand in early 1988 with her husband, Kanti Parshotam, Olga took on a further challenge of studying viola for teaching and performing. According to John Ritchie, her lecturer in Composition at Canterbury University College (later Prof. Ritchie), the viola was the 'cream of instruments'. Feeling there was not enough repertoire for that lovely instrument and with Prof. Ritchie's words in mind, Olga took on a personal challenge and studied viola for teaching and performing. Since 1988, Olga has been actively engaged in teaching viola, piano and violin and has been involved in organising and performing as a lead violist in concerts for the Northland Orchestra (now Northland Sinfonia). Olga's love for the viola, the 'cream of instruments' has prompted her to compose for the viola repertoire.

Composed (2)

Fantail Concerto

for viola and orchestra


for viola and piano