Your cart

Shipping and discount codes are added at checkout.


Lachlan McKenzie


Born: 1981


Lachlan studied composition under Anthony Ritchie at the University of Otago. He completed his MusB (Hons) in 2002 and was awarded a Lilburn Trust Student Composition Award in that same year.

His Merry-go-rounds for piano was included in ‘Sunrise: Music from New Zealand for Young Pianists’, which was published in 2008. He has composed for a range of instruments as well as voice and choral arrangements.

Since that time, Lachlan has served on the committee of the Composers Association of New Zealand. Lachlan lives in Wellington and works for the Ministry of Business, Innovation and Employment.

Composed (8)

Alice in Wonderland - a ballet suite

a ballet suite for orchestra, 21m

Flute Quintet

for flute and string quartet, 25m


for piano, 45s

My Flood

for SATB choir, 4m


for full orchestra with set of African drums, 7m

Oedipus the King

for male chorus, alto saxophone and hand drum

Quiet Lake

for piano, 40s

Theme and Variations for Orchestra in D minor

theme and variations for junior orchestras, 10m